Snapchat Now Offering In-App Voter Registration

By Talbert Toole
Lifestyles Editor

Snapchat users can register to vote in their respective states and counties through the social media app Snapchat. Photo by Talbert Toole.

November elections are a month away and many states are facing an overturn of current senators and representatives, including those in Mississippi. The openings include four congressional representatives and two senators for the Magnolia State.

The social media platform Snapchat partnered with TurboVote—a website that provides easy access to election information, voter registration documents and absentee information—now provides app users the option to register in each of their respective states and counties.

Snapchat users can click on their profile and choose the new selection block to register to vote. 

Photo by Talbert Toole.

Once clicked, the Snapchat interface provides a mobile registration form through TurboVote. After providing their first and last name, users can either continue to be registered in their current respective county or request to change their registration county.

If a user wishes to change where he or she is registered to vote, the partnered interface provides a printable document to fill out and turn into the new county he or she wishes to vote.

For example, if a member of the LOU community is registered to vote in a county other than Lafayette, he or she can simply print out the provided document, fill it out and turn it into the county registrar at 1 Courthouse Square, Suite 101.

Here is who Mississippians can expect to vote for on Nov. 6, 2018:

U.S. Senate (Sen. Roger Wicker’s seat)

David Baria (D)
Howard Sherman (D)
Jensen Bohren (D)
Jerone Garland (D)
Omeria Scott (D)
Victor G. Maurice Jr. (D)
Richard Warren Boyanton (R)
Roger Wicker (R-incumbent)
Shaw O’Hara (Reform)
Danny Bedwell (Libertarian)

U.S. House of Representatives

District 1
Randy Mack Wadkins (D)
Trent Kelly (R-incumbent)
Tracella Lou O’Hara Hill (Reform)

District 2
Bennie G. Thompson (D-incumbent)
Irving Harris (Reform)
Troy Ray (Independent)

District 3
Michael Guest (R)
Michael Ted Evans (D)
Matthew Holland (Reform).

District 4
Jeramey Anderson (D)
E. Brian Rose (R)
Steven Palazzo (R)
Lajena Sheets (Reform)



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.