Ole Miss’ Kendricks, Tobin Named SEC Indoor Athletes Of The Year


Sam Kendricks

The Southeastern Conference coaches voted Kendricks as the SEC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year and Tobin as the SEC Men’s Co-Freshman Runner of the Year after their spectacular performances at the league’s indoor meet this past weekend in College Station, Texas.

“It’s always good to see hard work be rewarded,” said Ole Miss head coach Brian O’Neal. “I am proud of both Sam and Sean. They’re two guys that work extremely hard at their craft. And they are two young men that love competing for Ole Miss and wearing the Red and Blue.”

Kendricks won his first SEC pole vault title last week to go along with his multitude of previous accolades. He is the current No. 1 ranked pole vaulter in the NCAA and U.S. and 14th in the world. The Oxford, Miss., native owns a season-best and school-record clearance of 18-8.25 from the Don Kirby Elite Invitational (Feb. 14) at the same Albuquerque Convention Center at which he will compete for the national title next week. In six 2013-14 indoor meets, he has broken five meet records and two facility records and eclipsed 18 feet five times. He is undefeated in collegiate pole vault competitions since he won last year’s NCAA outdoor title.

The last Rebel to be named an SEC Athlete of the Year was Isiah Young, who was tabbed SEC Outdoor Runner of the Year last year. Ricky Robertson was the Rebels’ last SEC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year in 2012.

Tobin shared SEC Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year honors with Arkansas hurdler Omar McLeod after anchoring Ole Miss to an SEC title in the distance medley relay and finishing runner-up in the mile at the conference meet. The Clonmel, Ireland native ran an incredible last leg to capture the first DMR title in school history. The squad’s time of 9:39.54 (second-best in school history) nearly broke the SEC meet record of 9:39.06. A couple of weeks earlier, Tobin became the first sub-4 minute indoor miler in school history when he ran 3:59.91 at the Husky Classic in Seattle. He finishes his indoor season ranked second overall in the SEC in the mile, first among league freshmen and fourth among all NCAA freshmen.

The last Ole Miss athlete to claim SEC Freshman of the Year honors was Fabia McDonald (Women’s Indoor Freshman Field Athlete of the Year in 2011).

The league also announced its indoor All-SEC honors on Friday. The four members of Ole Miss’ distance medley relay squad (Robert Domanic, Montez Griffin, Will Spiers and Tobin) earned first-team status, while Miller made the second team by placing top three in the 60 meter dash. Miller and Tobin both made the SEC All-Freshman Team by finishing first among freshmen in their individual events.

2014 SEC Indoor Track & Field Awards

Men’s Runner of the Year: Arman Hall, Florida

Men’s Field Athlete of the Year: Sam Kendricks, Ole Miss

Men’s Co-Freshman Runners of the Year: Omar McLeod, Arkansas and Sean Tobin, Ole Miss

Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Jeremiah Green, Alabama

Men’s Coach of the Year: Chris Bucknam

Women’s Co-Runners of the Year: Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M and Cory McGee, Florida

Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Erica Bougard, Mississippi State

Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Rebekah Greene, Florida

Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Kendell Williams, Georgia

Women’s Coach of the Year: Mike Holloway, Florida

Men’s First-Team All-SEC

Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M

Diondre Batson, Alabama

Robert Domanic, Ole Miss

Jeremiah Green, Alabama

Montez Griffin, Ole Miss

Solomon Haile, Arkansas

Arman Hall, Florida

Shavez Hart, Texas A&M

Raymond Higgs, Arkansas

Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky

Sam Kendricks, Ole Miss

Deon Lendore, Texas A&M

Eddie Lovett, Florida

Anthony May, Arkansas

Keffri Neal, Kentucky

Charodd Richardson, Alabama

Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M

Will Spiers, Ole Miss

Bradley Szypka, Kentucky

Sean Tobin, Ole Miss

Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Men’s Second-Team All-SEC

Matt Airola, Alabama

Andres Arroyo, Florida

Cameron Brown, Tennessee

Darrell Bush, LSU

Greg Coleman, Texas A&M

Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M

Quincy Downing, LSU

Dedric Dukes, Florida

Kyle Felpel, Alabama

Kamal Fuller, Alabama

Najee Glass, Florida

Gabe Gonzalez, Arkansas

Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida

Cyril Grayson, LSU

Charles Grethen, Georgia

Elias Hakansson, Alabama

Devion Harris, Texas A&M

Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M

Jonathon Ilori, Missouri

Andrew Irwin, Arkansas

Adam Kahleifeh, Kentucky

Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas

Ken LeGassey, Arkansas

Ty McCormack, Auburn

Omar McLeod, Arkansas

Jalen Miller, Ole Miss

Vernon Norwood, LSU

Sean Obinwa, Florida

Ryan Schnulle, Florida

Parker Shearer, Auburn

Ibn Short, Kentucky

Issac Spencer, Texas A&M

Nick Uruburu, Florida

Cameron Villarreal, Texas A&M

Chase Wolfle, Texas A&M

Stipe Zunic, Florida

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team

60m: Jalen Miller, Ole Miss

60mH: Omar McLeod, Arkansas

200m: Teray Smith, Auburn

400m: Nick Uruburu, Florida

800m: Andres Arroyo, Florida

Mile: Sean Tobin, Ole Miss

3,000m: Tyler Schneider, Missouri

5,000m: Dan Roe, Missouri

High Jump: Ken LeGassey, Alabama

Pole Vault: Charles Moushey, Kentucky

Long Jump: Trae Carey, Arkansas

Triple Jump: Jeremiah Green, Alabama

Shot Put: Kyle Felpel, Alabama

Weight Throw: Alex Poursandidis, Georgia

Heptathlon: Ibn Short, Kentucky

Women’s First-Team All-SEC

Erica Bougard, Mississippi State

Ciarra Brewer, Florida

Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M

Stephanie Brown, Arkansas

Dezerea Bryant, Kentucky

Loreal Curtis, Florida

Ebony Eutsey, Florida Rochelle Farquharson, Mississippi State

Destinee Gause, Florida

Rebekah Greene, Florida

Kendra Harrison, Kentucky

Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas

Denise Hinton, LSU

Kyra Jefferson, Florida

Leontia Kallenou, Georgia

Morgann Leleux, Georgia

Cory McGee, Florida

Kearsten Peoples, Missouri

Robin Reynolds, Florida

Dominique Scott, Arkansas

Agata Strausa, Florida

Women’s Second-Team All-SEC

Ocian Archer, Mississippi State

Marisa Bellamy, South Carolina

Chelsea Blaase, Tennessee

Jayla Bostic, Florida

Remona Burchell, Alabama

Taylor Burke, Florida

Olivia Ekpone, Texas A&M

Grace Fletcher, Texas A&M

Brea Garrett, Texas A&M

Briana Haith, South Carolina

Daina Harper, Arkansas

Tamera Harris, South Carolina

Precious Holmes, South Carolina

Katie Huston, Mississippi State

Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas

Shamier Little, Texas A&M

Megan Malasarte, Georgia

Yanique Malcolm, Alabama

Keri McClary, Arkansas

LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M

Valentina Muzaric, Auburn

Tamara Myers, Arkansas

Danielle Nowell, Arkansas

Lucie Ondraschkova, Georgia

Kayla Parker, Kentucky

Allison Peare, Kentucky

Lynnika Pitts, LSU

Chanice Porter, Georgia

Rhianwedd Price, Mississippi State

Jill Rushin, Missouri

Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina

Rebekka Simko, Arkansas

Jasmin Stowers, LSU

Brianna Swinton, Arkansas

Ariel Voskamp, Arkansas

Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Kendell Williams, Georgia

Regine Williams, Arkansas

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team

60m: Aaliyah Brown, Texas A&M

60mH: Skylar Ross-Ransom, Florida

200m: Felecia Majors, Tennessee

400m: Shamier Little, Texas A&M

800m: Courtney Clayton, Vanderbilt

Mile: Rebekah Greene, Florida

3,000m: Rebekah Greene, Florida

5,000m: Sandie Raines, Arkansas

High Jump: Leontia Kallenou, Georgia

Pole Vault: Georgia Stefanidi, Georgia

Long Jump: Sha’Keela Saunders, Kentucky

Triple Jump: Marshay Ryan, Auburn

Shot Put: Madison Jacobs, Kentucky

Weight Throw: Asianna Covington, Georgia

Pentathlon: Kendell Williams, Georgia –Ole Miss Sports Information

Sign up to receive Hottytoddy.com morning and evening headline emails HERE!

Follow HottyToddy.com on Facebook (If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss...), Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat (@hottytoddynews).


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.