Austrian Robinson Named Chucky Mullins Courage Award Winner

By Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Austrian Robinson receives the 2019 Chucky Mullins Courage Award. Photo by Adam Brown. 

Prior to the kickoff of the annual Grove Bowl, the Ole Miss M-Club honored Austrian Robinson with the 30th Chucky Mullins Courage Award on Saturday.

The honor allows him the opportunity to wear the number 38 throughout the 2019 season.

The New York, New York native has appeared in 26 games on the Rebels’ defensive line. Robinson, who played in 11 games last season at both defensive tackle and defensive end, has 52 career tackles, including 5.5 tackles for loss.

“(Robinson) has a blue collar mentality that everybody respects,” Ole Miss head coach Matt Luke said. “From the way that he leads, he is very well respected and not flashy.”

Coach Luke and his staff selected Robinson out of several veterans on the defense.

The award, sponsored by the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity, honors the late Chucky Mullins whose Ole Miss career came to an end during the 1989 homecoming game against Vanderbilt when he was paralyzed after making a tackle. After returning to his studies at Ole Miss, Mullins passed away May 6, 1991.

Former Chucky Mullins Courage Award recipients include: Chris Mitchell, Jeff Carter, Trea Southerland, Johnny Dixon, Alundis Brice, Michael Lowery, Derek Jones, Nate Wayne, Gary Thigpen, Ronnie Heard, Anthony Magee, Kevin Thomas, Lanier Goethie, Jamil Northcutt, Eric Oliver, Kelvin Robinson, Patrick Willis, Jeremy Garrett, Jamarca Sanford, Marcus Tillman, Kentrell Lockett, Deterrian Shackelford (twice), Jason Jones, Mike Marry, Mike Hilton, John Youngblood, Marquis Haynes and C.J. Moore.

Sign up to receive morning and evening headline emails HERE!

Follow on Facebook (If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss...), Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat (@hottytoddynews).


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.