OMAA Inducts 7 Alumni Into Hall of Fame

The Ole Miss Alumni Association (OMAA) is honoring seven distinguished alumni by inducting them into the Alumni Hall of Fame as part of the 2018 homecoming celebration.

Inductees into the 2018 Alumni Hall of Fame for are: Thad Cochran (BA ’59, JD ’65) of Oxford; Howard L. Gerlach (BBA ’66, MBA ’77) of Fairfax, Virginia; Mac Haik (BBA ’68) of Houston, Texas; Vernon R. “Randy” Kelley III (BBA ’70) of Tupelo; and James Meredith (BA ’63) of Jackson.

Warner Alford (BBA ’60, MA ’66) of Oxford will receive the Alumni Service Award for service to the university and the Alumni Association.

Shaquinta Morgan (BE ’03) of Madison, Alabama, will receive the Outstanding Young Alumni Award, which recognizes alumni who have shown exemplary leadership throughout their first 15 years of alumni status in both their careers and dedication to Ole Miss.

Created in 1974, the Hall of Fame honors select alumni who have made an outstanding contribution to their country, state or the University of Mississippi through good deeds, services or contributions that have perpetuated the good name of Ole Miss.

The Alumni Association will host a reception for the honorees on Friday, Oct. 5, at 6 p.m. in the Gertrude C. Ford Ballroom at The Inn at Ole Miss. A ticketed dinner for the award recipients will follow the reception at 7 p.m.

Those interested in attending the dinner should register in advance by calling the Alumni Association office at 662-915-7375 before 5 p.m., Friday, Sept. 21.

Cost of the dinner is $100 per person, or tables of 10 are available for $1,000. A total of $25 from the sale of each individual seat and $250 from each reserved table will go toward the Herb Dewees Alumni Association Scholarship.

For more information on the Ole Miss Alumni Association, visit their website here. staff report


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.